Coombe Conduit is one of Kingston’s most important ancient monuments. It was built around 1540 as part of a system to collect fresh water from springs on Kingston Hill and channel it to the palace of Hampton Court.
In its atmospheric interior visitors can see crystal-clear water still flowing into lead-lined cisterns in two brick-walled chambers, which are connected by an 80ft underground passage.
The imposing entry to the Conduit is a chapel-like building in stone and brick, topped with crow-stepped gables.
The entrance to the Conduit is in Coombe Lane West, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7HE, and is close to the corner of Lord Chancellor Walk.
The Kingston upon Thames Society manages the property on behalf of English Heritage.
Members of the Society open it to the public on the second Sunday of every month, between 2pm and 4pm, from April to September, as well as during the Heritage Open Days weekend.
The Conduit can also be opened by special arrangement for visits by schools and other groups. Guided tours are available free of charge, but donations to the Kingston Society are appreciated.
Could you be a guide?
People wishing to act as stewards or guides are always welcome as we rely on volunteers to open Coombe Conduit to visitors.
For more information, please contact the Kingston Society.